AutoTrader Scam?
Monday, February 15th, 2010Last year I bought my wife a VW Touareg. I really like it, and since the lease is coming to and end on my car, I am thinking of getting myself a Touareg also. I have been keeping a close eye on AutoTrader.com to find one that might be a fit. Over the last three weeks I have seen two that seemed like deals that were to-good-to-be-true. Both were Touareg TDI V10 models (the highest model in the Touareg lineup), one was selling for 10K under book, the other for 20K under book. Both were listed in the Atlanta area. So I figured I would at least take a look.
The first one I got this reply:
From: James H
Hi,
The vehicle is still available. I am located in Albertson, NY. The price is $21.000 and it includes shipping and the sale tax.The vehicle has no scratches or any kind of damage, it has no loans or liens on it.
The vehicle never had accidents and it comes with a clear title. I had a buyer from New York but his loan was not approved and now the car is still for sale.
Shipping is already paid, as I explained, my buyer couldn’t take the loan after I made the arrangements to ship the car,and the trucking company won’t refund me, but I am able to ship the car anywhere in the US.
As I travel a lot and I can’t do this transaction personally, the transaction will be made through MSN Autos for the safety of both of us, through bank transfer so we can be sure of the legitimacy of our deal…
I have to let you know that I want a fast deal because I have some financial problems right now.
Please reply me asap if interested.Mileage: 53,000 miles
Body type: SUV
Engine: Twin Turbo V-10 Diesel Sick!
Exterior color: Gray
Transmission: Automatic
Fuel type: Diesel
Interior color: Gray
Drivetrain: 4 Wheel DriveRegards,
James Handerson
The second one sent me this:
From: Melissa W
The car is still available.It has no scratches or any kind of damage. I am in North Carolina.Full price is $27.000, shipping included, and all the documents will be provided along with it.The transaction will be made through Yahoo Autos for our safety,so we can be sure of the legitimacy of our deal.I’m a serious seller and a fair trader and I prefer to deal only with a serious buyer..Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal because I need the money asap and that is also the reason why I am selling it at a lower price… so if you are really interested in buying it, please reply.Mileage: 9,556 miles
Vehicle title: Clear
Body type: SUV
Engine: 10 Cylinder
Exterior color: Black
Transmission: Automatic
Fuel type: Diesel
Interior color: Black
The emails are way to similar:
- There is nothing wrong with the vehicle (trying to set me at ease)
- The seller is really out of state (smaller chance of someone coming to look at vehicle)
- The deals includes shipping (because who wants to fuss with car shipping?)
- The deals is done through MSN/Yahoo for both of our safety (again trying to set me at ease)
- They need money ASAP because of some other financial problem (really?)
- Listing of very similar car details, in very similar format.
So I’m thinking maybe, just maybe, there is a scam going on here. What do you think?
Update:
So I asked Melissa W for the VIN, and she sent me a VIN that ties out for a V10 TDI. But then I asked if I could see the car since I have family in North Carolina that could look at it for me. She said:
I had the car listed on Yahoo and I thought I found my buyer so I made all the shipping arrangements to send that person the car and I even paid for the shipping but he could not pay me in the end as he was not approved for his loan,so now the shipping company has the car with all the papers ready to be sent.
Tweet This